Self-Storage
Self-Storage Cost Segregation
A self-storage cost segregation study moves paving, fencing, drainage, pole-mounted site lighting and security equipment out of 39-year property into 5-, 7- and 15-year property, because much of a facility's cost is site work and equipment rather than building; self-storage typically reclassifies 40–55% of the depreciable basis (a planning band, not a promise), and the share varies by facility.
By Howard Krieger, MBA, former ASA, Managing Director, ClickDrag Finance. Updated .
Start your studyPlanning aid, not a study: Self-storage typically reclassifies 40–55% of the depreciable basis (a planning band, not a promise). The qualifier estimates your facility from its purchase price; only a study of its own cost records measures it.

What does a self-storage cost segregation study reclassify?
- How much reclassifies: Self-storage typically reclassifies 40–55% of the depreciable basis (a planning band, not a promise). A cost segregation study identifies which components qualify, and only a study of the facility's own cost records measures a given facility.
- Where it comes from: 15-year land improvements under asset class 00.3 (paving, fencing, drainage, landscaping, pole-mounted site lighting), 5-year personal property under asset class 57.0 (gate and security equipment, trade-name sign faces) and 7-year rental-office furniture under asset class 00.11. The building shell stays 39-year property.
- Bonus depreciation: Bonus depreciation under IRC §168(k) is 100%, permanently, for qualified property acquired after January 19, 2025 (OBBBA, 2025-07-04), or, for self-constructed property, whose construction began after that date; qualified property acquired on or before that date stays on the TCJA phase-down (as does self-constructed property begun on or before it) by placed-in-service year: 80% in 2023, 60% in 2024, 40% in 2025, 20% in 2026, and 0% after that, with each rate one year later for long-production-period property and certain aircraft (§168(k)(6)(B)).
- The contested line: unit roll-up doors. Both sides of the question.
- Bought it in an earlier year? The missed depreciation can be claimed on Form 3115 when the conditions in the FAQ below hold.
$499* / $15,000
A $499* cost segregation workpaper for a rental property, for owners and advisors (*for a property whose purchase price plus construction costs total under $2.0 million); a $15,000 study up to $250 million in purchase price plus construction costs.
Typically 15–20 business days
The study is typically delivered 15–20 business days after your documents and photos are all in, with each component documented.
ATG methodology
Built on the methodology in the IRS Cost Segregation Audit Techniques Guide (Publication 5653), with the authority for each line written down.
Which self-storage assets are 5-, 15- and 39-year property?
A traditional office building is mostly 39-year structure. A self-storage facility carries much of its cost in site work, which Rev. Proc. 87-56 treats as 15-year land improvements, and in equipment that is 5-year personal property. Each line below gives the recovery period, the asset class and the authority for it. The IRS Cost Segregation Audit Techniques Guide has no self-storage chapter, so where a line cites its retail matrix, that matrix is an analogue, not a rule written for storage.
| Self-storage asset | Recovery period | Asset class | Authority |
|---|---|---|---|
| Paving, drive aisles, parking and sidewalks | 15-year | Land improvement, asset class 00.3 | Rev. Proc. 87-56, asset class 00.3 ("sidewalks, roads"), as quoted in IRS Pub. 5653 |
| Perimeter fencing | 15-year | Land improvement, asset class 00.3 | Rev. Proc. 87-56, asset class 00.3 ("fences") |
| Storm drainage, detention and retention ponds | 15-year | Land improvement, asset class 00.3 | Rev. Proc. 87-56, asset class 00.3 ("drainage facilities") |
| Landscaping and shrubbery | 15-year | Land improvement, asset class 00.3 | Rev. Proc. 87-56, asset class 00.3 ("landscaping, shrubbery") |
| Pole-mounted site lighting for drives and parking | 15-year | Land improvement, asset class 00.3 | IRS Pub. 5653, retail matrix (analogue): pole-mounted or freestanding outdoor lighting |
| Gate operators, keypads and access-control equipment | 5-year | Personal property (§1245), asset class 57.0 | Whiteco Industries, 65 T.C. 664 (1975) and Hospital Corp. of America, 109 T.C. 21 (1997): equipment, not a structural component |
| Surveillance cameras, recorders and monitors | 5-year | Personal property (§1245), asset class 57.0 | IRS Pub. 5653, retail matrix (analogue): security systems whose primary purpose is the business, not the building |
| Trade-name signs (the sign face) | 5-year | Personal property (§1245), asset class 57.0 | IRS Pub. 5653, retail matrix (analogue): exterior signs that display trade names |
| Rental-office furniture and office equipment | 7-year | Personal property (§1245), asset class 00.11 | Rev. Proc. 87-56, asset class 00.11 (Office Furniture, Fixtures, and Equipment), IRS Pub. 946 Table B-1 |
| Unit roll-up doors and their hardware | 5-year in our studies (contested) | See the position below | Contested: Treas. Reg. §1.48-1(e)(2) and IRS Pub. 5653 treat doors as structural components |
| Unit numbers, directional signs and building-mounted lights | 39-year | Building component (§1250) | IRS Pub. 5653, retail matrix (analogue): signs and lighting relating to the operation of the building |
| Building shell, slab, roof and structural frame | 39-year | Nonresidential real property (§1250) | Treas. Reg. §1.48-1(e)(2), structural components |
The recovery period on each line follows the authority on that line. Where the cost segregation studies we deliver currently classify an item differently, it is stated here; each is under review:
- Our studies currently classify surveillance, alarm and access-control systems as 7-year property, not the 5-year the ATG retail analogue gives.
- Our studies currently classify all signage as 5-year property, not only trade-name sign faces: unit numbers and directional signs too, which the ATG puts at 39 years as operating signs.
Are self-storage roll-up doors 5-year or 39-year property?
Unit roll-up doors are the most contested line in a self-storage cost segregation study. Treas. Reg. §1.48-1(e)(2) lists "windows and doors" among the structural components of a building, and the IRS Cost Segregation Audit Techniques Guide (Publication 5653) classifies doors, "including ... overhead and roll-up doors", as 39-year building components in its industry matrices.
Our studies classify individual storage-unit roll-up doors as 5-year personal property, on the reasoning that each door serves the unit it closes rather than the operation of the building, under the tests in Whiteco Industries, 65 T.C. 664 (1975) and Hospital Corp. of America, 109 T.C. 21 (1997). That is a position the IRS can challenge, not a settled rule; ask your CPA whether to take it, and expect the study to document it line by line.
How does a cost segregation study change the deductions on a self-storage facility?
A hypothetical illustration, not a projection for any facility. Take a facility whose depreciable basis (purchase price plus construction costs, less land) is $5,000,000, and assume, only for the arithmetic, that a cost segregation study classifies $2,000,000 of it as 5-, 7- and 15-year property. The share varies by facility, and only a study of the facility's own costs establishes it. The remaining $3,000,000 stays 39-year property, which deducts about $76,923 in a full year on a straight line (the first and last years use the mid-month convention).
For qualified property acquired after January 19, 2025, 100% bonus depreciation under IRC §168(k) lets the reclassified $2,000,000 in this hypothetical be deducted in the year the facility is placed in service, unless the owner elects out. Whether that deduction can be used this year depends on the owner's passive-activity position.
Cost segregation accelerates deductions; over the life of the facility the same basis is recovered. On a taxable sale at a gain, recapture applies, up to the amount of that gain, however long the property was held, outside the Opportunity Zone 10-year rule (a qualifying investment held 10 years with the IRC §1400Z-2(c) election): §1245 recapture on the 5- and 7-year property is ordinary income, as is §1250 recapture of the depreciation taken above straight-line (bonus included) on 15-year land improvements held more than one year, and the rest of the depreciation on those land improvements and on the 27.5- or 39-year structure is unrecaptured §1250 gain, taxed at up to 25% for a noncorporate taxpayer.
Which cost segregation product fits a self-storage facility?
$499* cost segregation workpaper
Fits: A facility whose purchase price plus construction costs total under $2.0 million, ordered by the owner or by a CPA or advisor for a client.
What it includes:
- A workpaper for the taxpayer's tax preparer, prepared from the information the buyer provides, reviewed before release.
- Built from the documents and photographs the buyer provides.
- Audit support: the workpaper and its stated procedures.
$15,000 cost segregation study
Fits: A facility whose purchase price plus construction costs total $2.0 million or more, up to $250 million, ordered by the owner, or one of any size up to $250 million ordered by a CPA or advisor for a client.
What it includes:
- A qualified human review of every component, with a project manager on the engagement.
- The signer block names its preparers.
- The study can include a site visit, by appointment, and a visit is preferred; when a site visit is not feasible because of cost or timing, the property is documented from its own records and from photographs linked to the components they support, and each photograph’s embedded date and location data are read and recorded.
- Audit support: the deliverable itself is the support: the written study, with its methodology, cost sources and per-component classification rationale.
Above $250 million, the study is scoped on a call with an advisor before any price is quoted.
*For a property whose purchase price plus construction costs total under $2.0 million.
How does a self-storage cost segregation study work, and what do you need to provide?
In four steps, built from the facility's own documents and photographs.
- Documents. You upload the documents listed below; the depreciable basis is built from them.
- Photographs. The study can include a site visit, by appointment, and a visit is preferred; when a site visit is not feasible because of cost or timing, the property is documented from its own records and from photographs linked to the components they support, and each photograph’s embedded date and location data are read and recorded.
- Review. The $15,000 study gets a qualified human review of every component; the $499* workpaper is reviewed before release. What each includes is set out in the products above.
- Delivery. The study is delivered as the study page, a PDF report and Excel schedules, checked against each other; the report is a narrative PDF. Your CPA uses it on the return.
| Document | What it is used for |
|---|---|
| Closing statement or settlement statement | the purchase price, closing costs and the land allocation the depreciable basis starts from |
| Trial balance or fixed-asset ledger, where one exists | when one is supplied, its account balances are the amounts the study classifies |
| Construction pay applications (AIA G702/G703) and contractor invoices | the cost of each component built or renovated |
| Photographs of the property | each photograph is linked to the components it supports, and its embedded date and location data are read and recorded |
What should a self-storage owner check before December 31 for cost segregation?
A self-storage owner should check whether the facility, or each new phase of units, was placed in service (ready and available for its intended use) by December 31, for a calendar-year taxpayer, because that date, not the closing date by itself or the date the cost segregation study is finished, decides which year's return first carries the facility's depreciation, including the 5-, 7- and 15-year property the study identifies.
- Dated evidence the units were ready to rent. A facility or an expansion phase is placed in service when its units are ready and available to rent, and useful support includes a certificate of occupancy where local law requires one, final utility activation, the access gate operating, units offered for rent and dated photos; a facility completed in phases is placed in service phase by phase.
- The acquired date for bonus depreciation. Bonus depreciation on the 5-, 7- and 15-year property a cost segregation study identifies is 100% for qualified property acquired after January 19, 2025, unless the owner elects out. For that test the acquired date is not the closing date: under IRS Notice 2026-11 property bought under a written binding contract is acquired on the latest of the date the contract was signed, the date it became enforceable under state law, the end of any cancellation period and the date any contingency was satisfied, under a contract that is not binding (for example, one that limits damages to a specified amount) it is generally when more than 10 percent of the total cost, excluding land and preliminary activities, has been paid or incurred, and self-constructed property, including property built for the taxpayer under a written binding contract signed before construction began, is acquired when physical work of a significant nature begins (Treas. Reg. §1.168(k)-2(b)(5)); and used property qualifies only if the taxpayer had not used it at any time before acquiring it and the acquisition meets the §179(d) purchase rules that §168(k)(2)(E)(i) applies (for example, it was not acquired from a related party, by gift or inheritance, or with a carryover basis). Property acquired on or before January 19, 2025 stays on the TCJA phase-down by placed-in-service year, set out in the FAQ below.
- The documents behind the basis. The closing statement, the purchase agreement, the contractor pay applications for a facility built or expanded, and a land-value source are what the study builds the depreciable basis from; the full list is in the document table above.
- Whether the deduction can be used this year. A larger first-year deduction helps only when the owner can use it, which depends on the owner's position under the passive-activity rules (§469) and the basis and at-risk (§465) limits, so confirm it with your CPA before the return is filed.
- When the study has to be finished. For property placed in service (ready and available for its intended use) by December 31 of the tax year, for a calendar-year taxpayer, the cost segregation study does not have to be finished by year-end: it can be completed afterwards, before the return for that year is filed, and its result belongs on that original return with no Form 3115.
None of this is a reason to buy a facility or to rush units into service for the deduction alone: the placed-in-service date should follow when the units are actually ready to rent.
The full list of year-end checks is in the year-end cost segregation checklist, and these articles explain the rules above:
- What placed in service means for rental depreciation and cost segregation
- When the cost segregation study has to be finished for the year's depreciation
- The January 19, 2025 written binding contract cutoff for bonus depreciation
Whether a cost segregation study is likely to fit the facility is what the cost segregation qualifier shows.
How do online cost segregation services compare with engineering firms for self-storage?
Online services publish a price and work mainly from what the owner supplies; engineering-led firms send an engineer to the property or inspect it virtually, and some publish a price or range while others quote on request. The table shows what each provider's own page states, for its studies generally rather than for self-storage specifically, with the date it was read.
| Provider | Type | Site visit | Audit support | Read |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ClickDrag Finance | Report and study | Site visit by appointment (preferred); when a visit is not feasible because of cost or timing, documents and photographs, with each photograph’s date and location data read | The written documentation of the method, the cost sources and the classification of each component | |
| R.E. Cost Seg — Fully Engineered | Engineering firm | A 30–60 minute virtual inspection; in person for an additional fee | Written responses to IRS inquiries about its methodology; no representation before the IRS | |
| R.E. Cost Seg — Rapid Report | Online service | No site visit or inspection | Written responses to IRS inquiries; no representation before the IRS | |
| Cost Seg Smart | Online service | A video walkthrough when it would improve the study, or in person where needed | Written answers to your CPA's questions about its methodology; no IRS representation | |
| KBKG — CostSegregation.com | Online service | Not stated | Lists audit support and audit defense as included | |
| RentalWriteOff | Online service | None; fully remote, from the appraisal or rental listing, with more photos if needed | Up to two hours of audit protection included for five years, then $300 an hour; no legal or tax representation | |
| Virtual Cost Segregation | Online service | None; completely virtual | Responds to IRS questions about its study at no additional cost | |
| SMF Cost Segregation Advisors | Online service | A virtual site visit; in-person inspection on request, for a surcharge and a 3–4 week turnaround | Lists audit defense as included | |
| Modern CFO | Online service | Not stated | Lifetime audit support | |
| 24 Hour Cost Seg | Online service | None; built from property records and the owner's documentation | Not stated | |
| Cost Seg EZ | Online service | Not stated | Audit protection a $195 add-on for the DIY and engineer-reviewed studies | |
| WeCostSeg | Online service | A virtual or in-person inspection in the Fully Engineered tiers | Five years of written audit defense in every tier, at no additional charge | |
| KBKG — engineered studies | Engineering firm | A physical inspection of the property | Not stated | |
| Engineered Tax Services | Engineering firm | On-site inspection described as part of its approach | Full audit defense support at no additional charge | |
| CSSI | Engineering firm | An on-site inspection by its engineers | Defends the audit at no cost if the study is questioned | |
| Madison SPECS | Engineering firm | An engineer visits the property for measurements and pictures | Not stated | |
| Capstan Tax Strategies | Engineering firm | In-person site visits for its standard study; its desk review has none | No-cost audit defense | |
| Maven Cost Segregation | Engineering firm | An on-site inspection by its in-house engineering team | Full audit protection | |
| CSA Partners (Cost Segregation Authority) | Engineering firm | An on-site inspection when applicable, as part of its process | No-cost audit defense for as long as the client owns the property |
The full comparison, with each provider's price, site visit, signature and audit support as its own page states them and the date each was read, is on the best cost segregation companies compared.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does a self-storage cost segregation study cost, and is it worth the fee?
ClickDrag Finance prices self-storage cost segregation by the facility's purchase price plus construction costs, not by property type: $499* for its cost segregation workpaper on a facility under $2.0 million and $15,000 for its cost segregation study on a facility up to $250 million, measured by that total. A CPA or tax advisor can order either product for a client: the $499* cost segregation workpaper when the property's purchase price plus construction costs total under $2.0 million, or the $15,000 cost segregation study when that total is up to $250 million; an owner orders the workpaper under $2.0 million and the study from $2.0 million of that total. Above $250 million, the study is scoped with an advisor before any price is quoted. Self-storage typically reclassifies 40–55% of the depreciable basis (a planning band, not a promise). A cost segregation study is worth it when three conditions hold together: the basis is large enough for the accelerated deductions to outweigh the fee (roughly $500K of basis for a study priced in the thousands of dollars, which is a pricing threshold rather than a tax rule, and lower for a lower-priced report), the deduction is usable this year given the owner's passive-activity position, and the hold is long enough to survive recapture. All three, or the honest answer is no. *For a property whose purchase price plus construction costs total under $2.0 million.
Who offers affordable cost segregation studies for small self-storage facilities?
For a small self-storage facility whose purchase price plus construction costs total under $2.0 million, ClickDrag Finance's lowest-priced product is its $499* cost segregation workpaper, which is a workpaper for the taxpayer's tax preparer, prepared from the information the buyer provides, reviewed before release. Among the other providers in our comparison, published prices start at $495 (Cost Seg Smart, residential and short-term rental; KBKG's CostSegregation.com, residential, up to a $500,000 tax basis, rising to $675 at $750,000 and $1,195 from $1.2M; read October 22, 2026); R.E. Cost Seg — Fully Engineered lists from $2,320 (residential) and from $2,730 (commercial) (read October 22, 2026); KBKG — engineered studies lists typically $5,000–$15,000, depending on building size, building type, number of tenants and other physical characteristics (read October 22, 2026); CSSI lists from $2,500 for most commercial properties, with larger or more complex buildings possibly costing more; the same page says a study typically ranges from $2,000 to $15,000, depending on the size, complexity and location of the property, with fees based on project scope and potential tax savings (read October 22, 2026); Madison SPECS lists typically $4,000–$11,000; a fixed fee per study, priced individually by the size and complexity of the property (read October 22, 2026); Maven Cost Segregation lists $2,500–$4,000 (smaller properties) and $5,000–$10,000+ (large or complex properties and portfolios); general ranges, not fixed quotes (read October 22, 2026); CSA Partners (Cost Segregation Authority) lists from $3,000, varying with the size, complexity and scope of the property; the fee is given in a no-cost benefit analysis before engagement (read October 23, 2026). These had no published price (quote on request): Engineered Tax Services and Capstan Tax Strategies (read October 22, 2026). Of the other providers in our comparison, CSA Partners (Cost Segregation Authority) (read October 23, 2026); Modern CFO, WeCostSeg, Engineered Tax Services and Maven Cost Segregation (read October 22, 2026) name self-storage on their own page, and R.E. Cost Seg — Fully Engineered (read October 22, 2026) states all property types on its own page. A lower price fits only when the facility is inside the limits the provider states for that product.
What's the best cost segregation company for a self-storage property?
The best fit depends on the facility's size. A CPA or tax advisor can order either product for a client: the $499* cost segregation workpaper when the property's purchase price plus construction costs total under $2.0 million, or the $15,000 cost segregation study when that total is up to $250 million; an owner orders the workpaper under $2.0 million and the study from $2.0 million of that total. For a self-storage facility, ClickDrag Finance's $15,000 cost segregation study, for a property whose purchase price plus construction costs total up to $250 million, writes down the classification rationale for every component. It carries a qualified human review of every component, and its signer block names its preparers. Of the other providers in our comparison, CSA Partners (Cost Segregation Authority) (read October 23, 2026); Modern CFO, WeCostSeg, Engineered Tax Services and Maven Cost Segregation (read October 22, 2026) name self-storage on their own page, and R.E. Cost Seg — Fully Engineered (read October 22, 2026) states all property types on its own page. ClickDrag Finance publishes this page and is one of the providers it compares.
How much of a self-storage facility can be reclassified?
Self-storage typically reclassifies 40–55% of the depreciable basis (a planning band, not a promise). A cost segregation study identifies which components qualify: paving, fencing, drainage, pole-mounted site lighting and security equipment are the usual sources of 5-, 7- and 15-year property at a self-storage facility. Only a study of the facility’s own cost records measures a given facility.
Which self-storage assets qualify for accelerated depreciation?
Paving, drive aisles, perimeter fencing, storm drainage and detention ponds, landscaping and pole-mounted site lighting are 15-year land improvements under asset class 00.3 of Rev. Proc. 87-56. Gate operators and access-control equipment, surveillance equipment and trade-name sign faces are 5-year personal property under asset class 57.0 by the IRS Audit Techniques Guide retail analogue, and rental-office furniture is 7-year property under asset class 00.11. Where our delivered studies differ from that authority: they currently classify surveillance, alarm and access-control systems as 7-year property, not the 5-year the ATG retail analogue gives; and they currently classify all signage as 5-year property, not only trade-name sign faces: unit numbers and directional signs too, which the ATG puts at 39 years as operating signs. Unit roll-up doors are contested: the IRS Cost Segregation Audit Techniques Guide (Publication 5653) treats doors as 39-year building components, and our studies classify them as 5-year, a position the IRS can challenge.
Are roll-up doors 5-year or 39-year property in a self-storage cost segregation study?
Unit roll-up doors are the most contested line in a self-storage cost segregation study. Treas. Reg. §1.48-1(e)(2) lists "windows and doors" among the structural components of a building, and the IRS Cost Segregation Audit Techniques Guide (Publication 5653) classifies doors, "including ... overhead and roll-up doors", as 39-year building components in its industry matrices. Our studies classify individual storage-unit roll-up doors as 5-year personal property, on the reasoning that each door serves the unit it closes rather than the operation of the building, under the tests in Whiteco Industries, 65 T.C. 664 (1975) and Hospital Corp. of America, 109 T.C. 21 (1997). That is a position the IRS can challenge, not a settled rule; ask your CPA whether to take it, and expect the study to document it line by line.
Does bonus depreciation apply in 2026 to the property a self-storage cost segregation study reclassifies?
Bonus depreciation under IRC §168(k) is 100%, permanently, for qualified property acquired after January 19, 2025 (OBBBA, 2025-07-04), or, for self-constructed property, whose construction began after that date; qualified property acquired on or before that date stays on the TCJA phase-down (as does self-constructed property begun on or before it) by placed-in-service year: 80% in 2023, 60% in 2024, 40% in 2025, 20% in 2026, and 0% after that, with each rate one year later for long-production-period property and certain aircraft (§168(k)(6)(B)). It applies to the 5-, 7- and 15-year property a cost segregation study identifies, not to the 39-year building.
Can I get a cost segregation study on a self-storage facility I bought in an earlier year?
Yes, for a self-storage facility you placed in service in an earlier tax year and still own. Under the automatic change procedures of Rev. Proc. 2015-13 and section 6.01 of Rev. Proc. 2025-23, the missed depreciation is claimed on Form 3115 with no amended returns when the property has been depreciated on two or more filed returns, or on one filed return if the taxpayer placed it in service in the tax year immediately before the year of change (the year of the return the Form 3115 is filed with), and the taxpayer still owned the property at the start of the year of change and meets the other eligibility rules. A prior election out of bonus depreciation cannot be undone through this change (section 6.01(1)(c)(vi) of Rev. Proc. 2025-23).
Does a self-storage cost segregation study have to be finished by December 31?
For property placed in service (ready and available for its intended use) by December 31 of the tax year, for a calendar-year taxpayer, the cost segregation study does not have to be finished by year-end: it can be completed afterwards, before the return for that year is filed, and its result belongs on that original return with no Form 3115.
How do online cost segregation services compare with traditional firms for self-storage?
Online cost segregation services publish a price and work mainly from what the owner supplies; engineering-led firms send an engineer to the property or inspect it virtually, and some publish a price or range while others quote on request. In our comparison, the online services are R.E. Cost Seg — Rapid Report, Cost Seg Smart, KBKG's CostSegregation.com, RentalWriteOff, Virtual Cost Segregation, SMF Cost Segregation Advisors, Modern CFO, 24 Hour Cost Seg, Cost Seg EZ and WeCostSeg, each with a published price; 6 of 8 engineering rows publish a price or range, and every engineering row states a site visit or inspection on its own page. For a self-storage facility, check the stated limits first; these online services state limits on size or type, printed in the table: R.E. Cost Seg — Rapid Report, KBKG's CostSegregation.com, RentalWriteOff, SMF Cost Segregation Advisors, Cost Seg EZ and WeCostSeg (read October 22, 2026). ClickDrag Finance publishes a price. Its study can include a site visit, by appointment, and a visit is preferred; when a site visit is not feasible because of cost or timing, the property is documented from its own records and from photographs linked to the components they support, and each photograph’s embedded date and location data are read and recorded.
Is ClickDrag Finance's self-storage cost segregation study engineering-based?
In its method, yes, for the study: ClickDrag Finance's self-storage study applies an engineering principles-based methodology to your documents and photographs. The $15,000 cost segregation study is document-driven: it applies an engineering principles-based methodology, the cost classification approach described in the IRS Cost Segregation Audit Techniques Guide (Publication 5653), to the property's own documents and to photographs linked to the components they support, with a qualified human review of every component.
Which companies include audit support with self-storage cost segregation studies?
Audit support means different things at different providers, so read what each one states; these are what each provider's own page says for its studies generally, not for self-storage specifically. R.E. Cost Seg — Fully Engineered: written responses to IRS inquiries about its methodology; no representation before the IRS (read October 22, 2026); R.E. Cost Seg — Rapid Report: written responses to IRS inquiries; no representation before the IRS (read October 22, 2026); Cost Seg Smart: written answers to your CPA's questions about its methodology; no IRS representation (read October 22, 2026); KBKG's CostSegregation.com: lists audit support and audit defense as included (read October 22, 2026); RentalWriteOff: up to two hours of audit protection included for five years, then $300 an hour; no legal or tax representation (read October 22, 2026); Virtual Cost Segregation: responds to IRS questions about its study at no additional cost (read October 22, 2026); SMF Cost Segregation Advisors: lists audit defense as included (read October 22, 2026); Modern CFO: lifetime audit support (read October 22, 2026); Cost Seg EZ: audit protection a $195 add-on for the DIY and engineer-reviewed studies (read October 22, 2026); WeCostSeg: five years of written audit defense in every tier, at no additional charge (read October 22, 2026); Engineered Tax Services: full audit defense support at no additional charge (read October 22, 2026); CSSI: defends the audit at no cost if the study is questioned (read October 22, 2026); Capstan Tax Strategies: no-cost audit defense (read October 22, 2026); Maven Cost Segregation: full audit protection (read October 22, 2026); CSA Partners (Cost Segregation Authority): no-cost audit defense for as long as the client owns the property (read October 23, 2026). These pages did not state audit support when read: 24 Hour Cost Seg, KBKG's engineered studies and Madison SPECS (read October 22, 2026). For ClickDrag Finance's $15,000 study, the deliverable itself is the support: the written study, with its methodology, cost sources and per-component classification rationale. For the $499* workpaper, the support is the workpaper and its stated procedures.
On the cost segregation audit support page, the providers whose own pages state audit support as included, with the date each page was read: Which companies include audit support with self-storage cost segregation studies?
Sources
- IRS Publication 5653, Cost Segregation Audit Techniques Guide (revised February 2025)
- IRS Publication 946, How To Depreciate Property (asset classes in Tables B-1 and B-2)
- Treas. Reg. §1.48-1(e)(2), structural components
- Rev. Proc. 87-56, 1987-2 C.B. 674 (asset classes 00.3, 00.11 and 57.0), quoted in Publications 5653 and 946
- Whiteco Industries, Inc. v. Commissioner, 65 T.C. 664 (1975), cited in Publication 5653
- Hospital Corp. of America v. Commissioner, 109 T.C. 21 (1997), cited in Publication 5653
Educational content, not tax advice. Each classification depends on the facility's own costs and documents; confirm positions with your CPA.
Ready to accelerate your self-storage depreciation?
Get a cost segregation study, typically delivered 15–20 business days after complete documents are in.
Start your studyClickDrag Finance as your self-storage cost segregation provider
We run cost segregation on self-storage facilities, where much of the cost sits in site work (paving, drive aisles, fencing, drainage, pole-mounted site lighting) and in security and access equipment; self-storage typically reclassifies 40–55% of the depreciable basis (a planning band, not a promise), and a study identifies which components qualify.
- Price
- $499 for a cost segregation workpaper on a rental property whose purchase price plus construction costs total under $2,000,000 — a workpaper for the taxpayer's tax preparer, reviewed before release, typically ready 3–5 business days after all required documents are in. $15,000 for the cost segregation study, for a property whose purchase price plus construction costs total up to $250,000,000 — qualified human review and oversight, typically delivered 15–20 business days after complete documents are in. Above $250,000,000, the scope is agreed on a call with an advisor before any price is quoted. Both are offered to owners and to CPAs or advisors acting for a client; the property's purchase price plus construction costs decide which one applies.
- Eligibility
- No unit-count limit and no hard minimum. A cost segregation study is worth it when three conditions hold together: the basis is large enough for the accelerated deductions to outweigh the fee (roughly $500K of basis for a study priced in the thousands of dollars, which is a pricing threshold rather than a tax rule, and lower for a lower-priced report), the deduction is usable this year given the owner's passive-activity position, and the hold is long enough to survive recapture. All three, or the honest answer is no.
- What is included
- Component-level classification documented to the IRS Cost Segregation Audit Techniques Guide, reconciled to your depreciable basis, with a depreciation schedule and a fixed-asset import template for your CPA, built from your documents and from photographs linked to the components they support.
- Payment
- The workpaper is paid in full at checkout; a study starts with a call and a proposal. All fees are non-refundable except as required by applicable law (see our terms).
Start your cost segregation study · Full pricing and eligibility · How we compare to other providers, including where a cheaper one is the better buy
Educational information, not tax advice. No estimate is a completed cost segregation study.
Who reviews and who signs a ClickDrag Finance cost segregation study?
| Question | $499* workpaper | $15,000 study |
|---|---|---|
| Who reviews it? | It is reviewed before release. | A qualified human review of every component, with a project manager on the engagement. |
| Who signs it? | It is a workpaper for the taxpayer's tax preparer, prepared from the information the buyer provides. | ClickDrag Finance signs the study (black label), and its signer block names its preparers: Howard Krieger (MBA, former ASA), Managing Director; and Robert H. Hutchins (CPA (Inactive), CVA (Emeritus)), Senior Tax Advisor. |
| Does a cost segregation study include a site visit? | It is prepared from the documents and photographs the buyer provides. | It can include a site visit, by appointment, and a visit is preferred; when a site visit is not feasible because of cost or timing, the property is documented from its own records and from photographs linked to the components they support, and each photograph’s embedded date and location data are read and recorded. |
| What audit support comes with it? | The workpaper and its stated procedures. | The deliverable itself is the support: the written study, with its methodology, cost sources and per-component classification rationale. |
*For a property whose purchase price plus construction costs total under $2.0 million.
Our terms set out the terms of each product.