ClickDrag Finance vs R.E. Cost Seg: cost segregation compared
By Howard Krieger, MBA, former ASA, Managing Director, ClickDrag Finance. Updated .
Choose R.E. Cost Seg — Fully Engineered for a virtual inspection at a lower published starting price, or R.E. Cost Seg — Rapid Report for a low-priced report on a small residential rental inside its stated limits (read October 23, 2026); choose ClickDrag Finance for a published $15,000 document-driven study, human-reviewed component by component with no site visit, of a property from $2.0 million to $250 million in purchase price plus construction costs (any size when a CPA orders for a client), or its $499* report under $2.0 million. *For a property whose purchase price plus construction costs total under $2.0 million.
R.E. Cost Seg is the better fit for a lower published starting price or range than the $15,000 study (R.E. Cost Seg — Fully Engineered), a lower published price inside a stated size limit (R.E. Cost Seg — Rapid Report), a site visit (R.E. Cost Seg — Fully Engineered: a 30–60 minute virtual inspection; in person for an additional fee) and audit support beyond the written study (R.E. Cost Seg — Fully Engineered and R.E. Cost Seg — Rapid Report), as its own pages stated when read October 22, 2026; ClickDrag Finance has no site visit at either product, offers a licensed engineer's signature only as an optional $1,500 add-on to the study, and does not include representation before the IRS. In each provider's terms: choose R.E. Cost Seg — Fully Engineered if you are a buyer who wants a low published price for an engineered study with a virtual inspection, and Form 3115 preparation as a priced add-on (read October 22, 2026), or R.E. Cost Seg — Rapid Report if you are an owner of a small residential rental inside its stated limits who wants a fast, low-priced report (read October 22, 2026); choose ClickDrag Finance if you are an owner whose property's purchase price plus construction costs total $2.0 million or more, or a CPA or tax advisor ordering for a client, and want a published $15,000 cost segregation study for a property whose purchase price plus construction costs total up to $250 million, with a qualified human review of every component and no site visit, or an owner of a property under $2.0 million (purchase price plus construction costs) who wants the $499* report, which is reviewed before release and unsigned. *For a property whose purchase price plus construction costs total under $2.0 million.
Disclosure: Published by ClickDrag Finance, one of the two providers compared. Nobody paid for placement, and R.E. Cost Seg did not review this page. Every R.E. Cost Seg fact here was read on R.E. Cost Seg's own pages and is printed with the date it was read; nothing comes from a third-party ranking, and nothing is scored or ranked. Every provider we compare, with each price and its read date, is on the full cost segregation provider comparison.
How do ClickDrag Finance and R.E. Cost Seg compare, side by side?
| Question | ClickDrag Financeclickdragfinance.com/pricing · | R.E. Cost Seg — Fully Engineeredrecostseg.com/services/fully-engineered-study · | R.E. Cost Seg — Rapid Reportrecostseg.com/services/rapid-report · |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published price | $499* report (for a property whose purchase price plus construction costs total under $2.0 million) · $15,000 study (for a property whose purchase price plus construction costs total up to $250 million; ordered by an owner from $2.0 million, or by a CPA or advisor for a client) | From $2,320 (residential), from $2,730 (commercial) | From $950 |
| Stated limits | None stated on the page read | None stated on the page read | Residential properties under 3,500 sq ft and up to 4 units, depreciable basis of $1.2M or less, renovation costs of $80K or less; not for multifamily properties with different layouts, mixed uses or varying placed-in-service dates |
| Turnaround | Report 3–5 business days · Study 15–20 business days, from receipt of all required documents | About 15–20 business days (roughly 3–4 weeks) | As little as 5 business days |
| Type | Report and study | Engineered study | Online service |
| Site visit | None, virtual or physical, at either product | A 30–60 minute virtual inspection; in person for an additional fee | No site visit or inspection |
| Signed? | Report: unsigned · Study: its signer block names its preparers; a licensed engineer's signature is an optional $1,500 add-on | Not stated | Not stated |
| Audit support | The written documentation; representation before the IRS is not included | Written responses to IRS inquiries about its methodology; no representation before the IRS | Written responses to IRS inquiries; no representation before the IRS |
| Form 3115 | The study's Form 4562 tie-out flags a look-back for Form 3115; your CPA prepares and files it | Optional add-on, $600 per study | Optional CPA support package, $600 per property |
| Property types | Commercial, multifamily, self-storage, industrial, retail, medical office, hospitality and rental property, up to $250 million | All commercial and residential properties | Residential properties within the stated limits |
Each competitor cell is what that provider's own page stated on the date in its column, in our words; "Not stated" means the page we read did not say. It is not a test of anyone's work.
When is R.E. Cost Seg the better choice?
- A lower published starting price or range than ClickDrag Finance's $15,000 study, with no size limit stated on the page read: R.E. Cost Seg — Fully Engineered (read October 22, 2026). A starting price or a range is not a quote for a specific property.
- A lower published price for a property inside the limit the page for R.E. Cost Seg — Rapid Report states: residential properties under 3,500 sq ft and up to 4 units, depreciable basis of $1.2M or less, renovation costs of $80K or less; not for multifamily properties with different layouts, mixed uses or varying placed-in-service dates (read October 22, 2026). Its price is under "What does each cost?" below.
- A site visit: the page for R.E. Cost Seg — Fully Engineered states a 30–60 minute virtual inspection; in person for an additional fee (read October 22, 2026). ClickDrag Finance has no site visit at either product.
- Audit support beyond the written study: the page for R.E. Cost Seg — Fully Engineered states written responses to IRS inquiries about its methodology; no representation before the IRS (read October 22, 2026). At ClickDrag Finance the written documentation is the support.
- Audit support beyond the written study: the page for R.E. Cost Seg — Rapid Report states written responses to IRS inquiries; no representation before the IRS (read October 22, 2026). At ClickDrag Finance the written documentation is the support.
What does each cost?
For a property from $2.0 million, R.E. Cost Seg — Fully Engineered publishes a lower starting price or range than ClickDrag Finance's $15,000 study (a starting price or range, not a quote for a specific property). R.E. Cost Seg — Rapid Report states a size limit, so check the property against it first. For a property under $2.0 million, ClickDrag Finance's $499* report is below the lowest price R.E. Cost Seg publishes; the report is a workpaper for the taxpayer's tax preparer, prepared from the information the buyer provides, not an engineering study. (R.E. Cost Seg's prices read October 22, 2026.) *For a property whose purchase price plus construction costs total under $2.0 million.
ClickDrag Finance lists a $499* report, for a property whose purchase price plus construction costs total under $2.0 million, reviewed before release and unsigned (it is not signed by a CPA or an engineer, or by anyone else), at 3–5 business days from receipt of all required documents; and a $15,000 study, for a property whose purchase price plus construction costs total up to $250 million (ordered by an owner from $2.0 million, or by a CPA or advisor for a client), at 15–20 business days from receipt of all required documents (read October 20, 2026). *For a property whose purchase price plus construction costs total under $2.0 million.
R.E. Cost Seg — Fully Engineered lists from $2,320 (residential) and from $2,730 (commercial), with a turnaround of about 15–20 business days (roughly 3–4 weeks) (read October 22, 2026).
R.E. Cost Seg — Rapid Report lists from $950, with a turnaround of as little as 5 business days; its page states residential properties under 3,500 sq ft and up to 4 units, depreciable basis of $1.2M or less, renovation costs of $80K or less; not for multifamily properties with different layouts, mixed uses or varying placed-in-service dates (read October 22, 2026).
What does each deliver?
ClickDrag Finance's $15,000 study includes document-traced component values from invoices, trial balance or AIA pay applications, qualified human review and oversight of every component, document and photo review of the property, with photographs linked to the components they support, a documentation package built to the IRS ATG, a dedicated project manager and full exhibit set and narrative, typically delivered 15–20 business days from receipt of all required documents. The study's Form 4562 tie-out flags a look-back for Form 3115; your CPA prepares and files it.
ClickDrag Finance's $499* report is a narrative PDF: it states its purpose and the procedures followed, gives one summary table of each recovery class with its amount and percent of the depreciable basis and the Year-1 deduction, and ends with one disclaimer; it has no Excel workbook, no year-by-year depreciation schedules and no item listings, exhibits or appendices. *For a property whose purchase price plus construction costs total under $2.0 million.
The page for R.E. Cost Seg — Fully Engineered describes a final PDF report and an Excel copy of the fixed asset schedule to share with the accountant (read October 23, 2026); it states on Form 3115: optional add-on, $600 per study, and states a turnaround of about 15–20 business days (roughly 3–4 weeks) (read October 22, 2026).
The page for R.E. Cost Seg — Rapid Report describes a final PDF report and an Excel copy of the fixed asset schedule to share with the accountant (read October 23, 2026); it states on Form 3115: optional CPA support package, $600 per property, and states a turnaround of as little as 5 business days (read October 22, 2026).
Who signs it?
ClickDrag Finance's $499* report: Nobody. It is unsigned: a workpaper for the taxpayer's tax preparer, prepared from the information the buyer provides, not signed by a CPA or an engineer. *For a property whose purchase price plus construction costs total under $2.0 million.
ClickDrag Finance's $15,000 study: The study's signer block names its preparers: Howard Krieger (MBA, former ASA), Managing Director; and Robert H. Hutchins (CPA (Inactive), CVA (Emeritus)), Senior Tax Advisor. A licensed engineer's signature: yes, as an optional $1,500 add-on. It is not in the base price.
The page for R.E. Cost Seg — Fully Engineered, read October 22, 2026, does not state who signs the study.
The page for R.E. Cost Seg — Rapid Report, read October 22, 2026, does not state who signs the study.
Is either engineering-based?
The $15,000 cost segregation study is document-driven: it applies an engineering principles-based methodology, the cost classification approach described in the IRS Cost Segregation Audit Techniques Guide (Publication 5653), to the property's own documents and to time- and geo-stamped photographs, with a qualified human review of every component; there is no site visit, virtual or physical, and no licensed engineer signs it unless the optional $1,500 signature add-on is ordered.
ClickDrag Finance's $499* report is not an engineering study: it is a workpaper for the taxpayer's tax preparer, prepared from the information the buyer provides, reviewed before release and unsigned. *For a property whose purchase price plus construction costs total under $2.0 million.
The page for R.E. Cost Seg — Fully Engineered describes both of its services as performed by qualified engineers following IRS guidelines, and its studies as using the Replacement Cost New Less Depreciation methodology, after a virtual inspection (read October 23, 2026).
The page for R.E. Cost Seg — Rapid Report describes a report prepared from a property questionnaire and the documents the buyer submits, with no inspection: its engineers model the allocations from proprietary data and industry benchmarks by property type, location and year built, and an engineer reviews the inputs and assumptions (read October 23, 2026).
What audit support does each include?
ClickDrag Finance: The deliverable is the support: methodology, cost sources and per-component classification rationale, documented to the IRS ATG. Representation before the IRS is not included at any price.
The page for R.E. Cost Seg — Fully Engineered states written responses to IRS inquiries about its methodology; no representation before the IRS (read October 22, 2026).
The page for R.E. Cost Seg — Rapid Report states written responses to IRS inquiries; no representation before the IRS (read October 22, 2026).
ClickDrag Finance does not include representation before the IRS at any price. The page for R.E. Cost Seg — Fully Engineered states that representation before the IRS is not included (read October 22, 2026). The page for R.E. Cost Seg — Rapid Report states that representation before the IRS is not included (read October 22, 2026).
Which fits a $1 million property, and which fits a $5 million property?
For a $1 million property (purchase price plus construction costs), ClickDrag Finance sells an owner the $499* report, reviewed before release and unsigned, and a CPA or tax advisor can order the report or the $15,000 study for a client; the report is a workpaper for the taxpayer's tax preparer, prepared from the information the buyer provides, not an engineering study. *For a property whose purchase price plus construction costs total under $2.0 million. R.E. Cost Seg — Fully Engineered lists from $2,320 (residential) and from $2,730 (commercial), with a turnaround of about 15–20 business days (roughly 3–4 weeks) (read October 22, 2026). R.E. Cost Seg — Rapid Report lists from $950, with a turnaround of as little as 5 business days; its page states residential properties under 3,500 sq ft and up to 4 units, depreciable basis of $1.2M or less, renovation costs of $80K or less; not for multifamily properties with different layouts, mixed uses or varying placed-in-service dates (read October 22, 2026). Check the property against the limit R.E. Cost Seg — Rapid Report states before ordering.
For a $5 million property, ClickDrag Finance's study is $15,000 before any optional add-on, for an owner whose property's purchase price plus construction costs total $2.0 million or more, or a CPA or tax advisor ordering for a client, with no site visit. R.E. Cost Seg — Fully Engineered publishes a lower starting price or range (prices above); a starting price or range is not a quote, so ask for a written quote for the property. The page for R.E. Cost Seg — Rapid Report states residential properties under 3,500 sq ft and up to 4 units, depreciable basis of $1.2M or less, renovation costs of $80K or less; not for multifamily properties with different layouts, mixed uses or varying placed-in-service dates (read October 22, 2026), so check whether it covers a $5 million property. The page for R.E. Cost Seg — Fully Engineered states a 30–60 minute virtual inspection; in person for an additional fee (read October 22, 2026).
Where can you compare more providers?
Best cost segregation companies (2026) compares every provider we have read, with each price and its read date. For an Opportunity Zone property, see Opportunity Zone cost segregation.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which should I choose, ClickDrag Finance or R.E. Cost Seg?
Choose R.E. Cost Seg — Fully Engineered for a virtual inspection at a lower published starting price, or R.E. Cost Seg — Rapid Report for a low-priced report on a small residential rental inside its stated limits (read October 23, 2026); choose ClickDrag Finance for a published $15,000 document-driven study, human-reviewed component by component with no site visit, of a property from $2.0 million to $250 million in purchase price plus construction costs (any size when a CPA orders for a client), or its $499* report under $2.0 million. *For a property whose purchase price plus construction costs total under $2.0 million. R.E. Cost Seg is the better fit for a lower published starting price or range than the $15,000 study (R.E. Cost Seg — Fully Engineered), a lower published price inside a stated size limit (R.E. Cost Seg — Rapid Report), a site visit (R.E. Cost Seg — Fully Engineered: a 30–60 minute virtual inspection; in person for an additional fee) and audit support beyond the written study (R.E. Cost Seg — Fully Engineered and R.E. Cost Seg — Rapid Report), as its own pages stated when read October 22, 2026; ClickDrag Finance has no site visit at either product, offers a licensed engineer's signature only as an optional $1,500 add-on to the study, and does not include representation before the IRS.
Which is cheaper, ClickDrag Finance or R.E. Cost Seg?
For a property from $2.0 million, R.E. Cost Seg — Fully Engineered publishes a lower starting price or range than ClickDrag Finance's $15,000 study (a starting price or range, not a quote for a specific property). R.E. Cost Seg — Rapid Report states a size limit, so check the property against it first. For a property under $2.0 million, ClickDrag Finance's $499* report is below the lowest price R.E. Cost Seg publishes; the report is a workpaper for the taxpayer's tax preparer, prepared from the information the buyer provides, not an engineering study. (R.E. Cost Seg's prices read October 22, 2026.) *For a property whose purchase price plus construction costs total under $2.0 million. R.E. Cost Seg — Fully Engineered lists from $2,320 (residential) and from $2,730 (commercial), with a turnaround of about 15–20 business days (roughly 3–4 weeks) (read October 22, 2026). R.E. Cost Seg — Rapid Report lists from $950, with a turnaround of as little as 5 business days; its page states residential properties under 3,500 sq ft and up to 4 units, depreciable basis of $1.2M or less, renovation costs of $80K or less; not for multifamily properties with different layouts, mixed uses or varying placed-in-service dates (read October 22, 2026). ClickDrag Finance lists a $499* report, for a property whose purchase price plus construction costs total under $2.0 million, reviewed before release and unsigned (it is not signed by a CPA or an engineer, or by anyone else), at 3–5 business days from receipt of all required documents; and a $15,000 study, for a property whose purchase price plus construction costs total up to $250 million (ordered by an owner from $2.0 million, or by a CPA or advisor for a client), at 15–20 business days from receipt of all required documents (read October 20, 2026).
Does R.E. Cost Seg or ClickDrag Finance visit the property?
The page for R.E. Cost Seg — Fully Engineered states a site visit, and ClickDrag Finance has none: the page for R.E. Cost Seg — Fully Engineered states a 30–60 minute virtual inspection; in person for an additional fee (read October 22, 2026). The page for R.E. Cost Seg — Rapid Report states no site visit or inspection (read October 22, 2026). There is no site visit, virtual or physical, at either tier. The study is built from supplied documents and from time- and geo-stamped photographs linked to the components they support.
Who signs a R.E. Cost Seg study, and who signs ClickDrag Finance's?
The page for R.E. Cost Seg — Fully Engineered, read October 22, 2026, does not state who signs the study. The page for R.E. Cost Seg — Rapid Report, read October 22, 2026, does not state who signs the study. ClickDrag Finance's $499* report: Nobody. It is unsigned: a workpaper for the taxpayer's tax preparer, prepared from the information the buyer provides, not signed by a CPA or an engineer. *For a property whose purchase price plus construction costs total under $2.0 million. ClickDrag Finance's $15,000 study: The study's signer block names its preparers: Howard Krieger (MBA, former ASA), Managing Director; and Robert H. Hutchins (CPA (Inactive), CVA (Emeritus)), Senior Tax Advisor. A licensed engineer's signature: yes, as an optional $1,500 add-on. It is not in the base price.
Does R.E. Cost Seg or ClickDrag Finance represent you before the IRS?
ClickDrag Finance does not include representation before the IRS at any price. The page for R.E. Cost Seg — Fully Engineered states that representation before the IRS is not included (read October 22, 2026). The page for R.E. Cost Seg — Rapid Report states that representation before the IRS is not included (read October 22, 2026). ClickDrag Finance: The deliverable is the support: methodology, cost sources and per-component classification rationale, documented to the IRS ATG. Representation before the IRS is not included at any price.
Who wrote this comparison of ClickDrag Finance and R.E. Cost Seg?
Published by ClickDrag Finance, one of the two providers compared. Nobody paid for placement, and R.E. Cost Seg did not review this page. Every R.E. Cost Seg fact here was read on R.E. Cost Seg's own pages and is printed with the date it was read; nothing comes from a third-party ranking, and nothing is scored or ranked.
Which study fits your property?
The qualifier routes you to the right product for the property's size, or to a person if neither fits.
Find the right studyEducational content, not tax advice. Whether a cost segregation study benefits you depends on your depreciable basis, hold period and passive-activity position; confirm with your CPA. Competitor facts are as published on the dates shown and may change; verify them on the provider's own page before relying on them.